Final assembly...

Discuss construction, troubleshooting, and operation of the Altair 8800c computer

Final assembly...

Postby BillO » February 4th, 2021, 6:28 pm

So this weekend I plan to do the final assembly on my 8800c. Two questions arise

1) What do you think are the chances are that it will just work without chasing bugs?

2) What is a good test procedure? I'm using the same configuration of boards and power supplies suggested by Mike.
BillO

Re: Final assembly...

Postby toml_12953 » February 4th, 2021, 11:09 pm

BillO wrote:So this weekend I plan to do the final assembly on my 8800c. Two questions arise

1) What do you think are the chances are that it will just work without chasing bugs?

2) What is a good test procedure? I'm using the same configuration of boards and power supplies suggested by Mike.

I am a beginner solderer and I can tell you that I built an 8800c and it worked the first time except for a small timing error on the CPU board. A new
8080A chip fixed that.

For good tests, use routines found on other replica Altair sites and in the Altair 8800 assemble manual.
the Kill-a-Bit program seems to be a good test. https://altairclone.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=271
toml_12953

Postby BillO » February 5th, 2021, 12:08 pm

toml_12953 wrote:I am a beginner solderer and I can tell you that I built an 8800c and it worked the first time except for a small timing error on the CPU board. A new
8080A chip fixed that.

For good tests, use routines found on other replica Altair sites and in the Altair 8800 assemble manual.
the Kill-a-Bit program seems to be a good test. https://altairclone.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=271

I'm no newbie to soldering and I have adjusted the timing on the CPU clock to be completely within spec, so that shouldn't be a problem.

My question was kinda in jest, but to be honest I'm a not 100% sure about the old parts (8080A-1 and 8212). But .. we all make mistakes too. We'll see ..
BillO