Post a picture of your Altair.

General discussions related to the Altair 8800 Clone

Re: Post a picture of your Altair.

Postby harnas » April 26th, 2015, 6:17 am

Here is mine, while loading the 8K BASIC

I love to play some tapes on that 8-track player while using the Altair :)

Altair.jpg
harnas
 
Posts: 13
Joined: April 23rd, 2015, 1:25 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: Post a picture of your Altair.

Postby JNZ » April 26th, 2015, 11:56 pm

I posted a different setup with Cool-Retro-Term running on my x201t, but here's my current setup:

Image

larger: http://i.imgur.com/HGlYGWk.jpg

The thing on the far right is a Raspberry Pi, and its only role in this retro goodness is to transfer disk images over serial.
JNZ
 
Posts: 32
Joined: March 13th, 2015, 1:13 pm

Re: Post a picture of your Altair.

Postby snuci » May 21st, 2015, 7:53 am

I'm a new member here and am very happy to say that I just got my Altair Clone. Here's mine on top of a MITS Altair 8800.

Altair-Clone-with-Mits-Altair-on-bottom.jpg
Altair Clone (top) with MITS Altair 8800 (bottom)
Altair-Clone-with-Mits-Altair-on-bottom.jpg (110.59 KiB) Viewed 6901 times


More pictures and a blog posting here: http://vintagecomputer.ca/altair-clone- ... ifference/
snuci
 
Posts: 2
Joined: May 18th, 2015, 8:46 pm

Re: Post a picture of your Altair.

Postby waltermixxx » June 5th, 2015, 1:38 pm

Here is mine :)
Attachments
altair.JPG
My Altair 8800 Clone :)
Altair Clone, Briel 8800micro, Replica 1plus (wire wrapped), Cosmac Elf 2K.
I love this stuff, just wish my wife did... :)
waltermixxx
 
Posts: 16
Joined: May 28th, 2015, 1:12 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Post a picture of your Altair.

Postby Caterman » July 12th, 2015, 3:19 pm

My mini Altair
No not really, this is my serial switch.
This allows me to have my Altair connected to my printer, paper tape punch, pocket term ACR to PC serial port 1 to PCs
In fact along with the PCs connection from the pocket term I have 3 serial connections to 3 instances of Terra Term.
This covers all my needs at present! without having to disconnect a serial lead.
Attachments
image.jpg
Caterman
 
Posts: 52
Joined: May 31st, 2015, 3:07 pm
Location: UK

Re: Post a picture of your Altair.

Postby mail@gabrielegan.com » July 12th, 2015, 3:27 pm

I'd buy one of these if you're selling them: I'm using a bunch of off-the-shelf switch-boxes and the results aren't anything like as good as this.
mail@gabrielegan.com
 
Posts: 103
Joined: October 11th, 2014, 8:12 am

Re: Post a picture of your Altair.

Postby AltairClone » July 12th, 2015, 6:10 pm

Now that is cool!
AltairClone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 422
Joined: April 5th, 2013, 10:55 am

Re: Post a picture of your Altair.

Postby Caterman » July 13th, 2015, 5:38 am

Glad you like it. I'm sorry but I won't be selling these!
Trouble is the enclosure is a very old data switch box I had kicking about. Plus I'm in the UK.
You could convert another box, I was lucky, had this one kicking about that had 3 - 9pin serial 3 - VGA sockets and 3 Keyboard Sockets.
I have used 5 out of the 6 DB9 holes for 9 pin serial sockets and 3 - trailing input leads that connect to the Clone, go through the keyboard holes.
Best I can do is upload the artwork.
Attachments
Altair Data Switch Box.jpg
Caterman
 
Posts: 52
Joined: May 31st, 2015, 3:07 pm
Location: UK

Re: Post a picture of your Altair.

Postby mail@gabrielegan.com » July 14th, 2015, 5:09 am

I'm in the UK too -- are you anywhere near the Midlands? I'd love to see your setup and discuss these amazing machines Mike has built. I'm at De Montfort University in Leicester.
mail@gabrielegan.com
 
Posts: 103
Joined: October 11th, 2014, 8:12 am

Re: Post a picture of your Altair.

Postby Caterman » July 16th, 2015, 4:02 pm

Here's a snap of my humble setup.
I'm based in a small village next to the Channel Tunnel Terminal near Folkestone.
Attachments
image.jpg
Caterman
 
Posts: 52
Joined: May 31st, 2015, 3:07 pm
Location: UK

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests