Altair 8800 Operator's Manual v2.0

General discussions related to the Altair 8800 Clone

Altair 8800 Operator's Manual v2.0

Postby ubuntourist » October 20th, 2020, 2:09 pm

So.

I've been helping a class of high school students who are studying the Altair, and, though I like old tech well enough, I've never been a fan of scans of copies of faxes of 45-year-old, coffee-stained printouts with ink peeling off of them. (Yes, I know, that's a slight exaggeration. But still...) Also, I like links and cross-references.

So, to that end, I converted the document to HTML, and have been slowly adding new tidbits to it. The new stuff is a bit "stream of consciousness" / "off the top of my head" notes, but still useful to the newbie, I hope. Honestly, when it comes to the Altair, I'm a newbie myself. But I've dealt with several mainframe assembler languages, and at least one machine where I had to toggle stuff into a front panel. So, not a big leap.

For your viewing pleasure, I present:

https://ubuntourist.codeberg.page/Altair-8800/

with additons:

Some of those may end up getting combined or eliminated, as there's a bit of redundancy in a couple of places. And I may end up renaming some of the files. So don't depend on the URLs of the above sections staying constant. (I expect I'll keep the root URL provided at the top of this message.)

Oh, and I added a wee bit to the section on the Exclusive Or in Part 1: Introduction, Section B: Electronic Logic.
ubuntourist

Re: Altair 8800 Operator's Manual v2.0

Postby AltairClone » October 21st, 2020, 12:29 pm

Wow, that's a lot of work! Great looking job.

Mike
AltairClone
Site Admin

Postby jibanes » October 21st, 2020, 3:36 pm

That's great, is there a pdf version? So I could read it on the go.
jibanes

Postby toml_12953 » October 22nd, 2020, 12:42 am

ubuntourist wrote:So.