wordstar 3.0 on altair

General discussions related to the Altair 8800 Clone

wordstar 3.0 on altair

Postby jrdurgan » September 2nd, 2019, 3:03 pm

Hello All,

I am able to load the cpm 2.2 disk with the wordstar files on it. In the directory is the install program. I have tried to do the installation but am not sure at all about the correct menu settings to select. I am using the terminal emulator recommended on the altairclone website. Can anyone out there who is using wordstar on the clone with a dot-matrix printer tell me what the settings should be.

Thanks in advance

J Durgan
jrdurgan
 
Posts: 11
Joined: July 24th, 2018, 12:00 pm

Re: wordstar 3.0 on altair

Postby jibanes » September 2nd, 2019, 3:20 pm

wow excellent, I'll follow this.
send screenshots!
jibanes
 
Posts: 56
Joined: February 8th, 2014, 1:07 pm

Re: wordstar 3.0 on altair

Postby TronDD » September 7th, 2019, 12:13 pm

I just ran through the settings described here and it seems to work good for a VT100 terminal emulator (xterm).

https://jefftranter.blogspot.com/2014/0 ... -8800.html

I'm not using TeraTerm so not sure if it'll work for you.

Printer settings, though, not sure. Depends on the printer, probably.

Tim.
TronDD
 
Posts: 28
Joined: November 20th, 2018, 8:51 pm

Re: wordstar 3.0 on altair

Postby jibanes » September 7th, 2019, 12:29 pm

thanks for sharing! how did you find wordstar in terms of usability?
jibanes
 
Posts: 56
Joined: February 8th, 2014, 1:07 pm

Re: wordstar 3.0 on altair

Postby TronDD » September 7th, 2019, 3:33 pm

Me? I've only used it for basic text editing.

I need to get a serial card for my Oki printer and play with more of the word processing capabilities.

Basic stuff is pretty straightforward as the commands are are listed on the screen. The dot commands for formatting will require the manual, though, but I like that it's sort of programmable in that way. It's also pretty slow on the Altair, which I love. Something about seeing the screen redraw with your keystrokes adds to the feeling of a connection with the computer. :D
TronDD
 
Posts: 28
Joined: November 20th, 2018, 8:51 pm

Re: wordstar 3.0 on altair

Postby jibanes » September 7th, 2019, 4:20 pm

nice
jibanes
 
Posts: 56
Joined: February 8th, 2014, 1:07 pm

Re: wordstar 3.0 on altair

Postby TronDD » September 8th, 2019, 9:10 pm

Note for anyone connecting to the Altair from *NIX, you might need to disable XON flow control if you find that ^S freezes the screen instead of moving the cursor left a character in WordStar.

Your terminal emulator might have a setting. If you're using just Xterm or similar, try 'stty -ixon' before connecting to the Altair with whatever serial terminal you use.
TronDD
 
Posts: 28
Joined: November 20th, 2018, 8:51 pm

Re: wordstar 3.0 on altair

Postby GlassTTY » January 9th, 2020, 4:50 pm

Just thought I would share the settings I use for a VT100 (actually I use David Hansel's fork of PIGFX for my terminal), just in case it helps anyone.

https://glasstty.com/wiki/index.php/Pat ... 0_Terminal
GlassTTY
 
Posts: 5
Joined: November 14th, 2019, 8:34 pm


Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron