Teletype Support

General discussions related to the Altair 8800 Clone

Teletype Support

Postby smripper » July 9th, 2013, 9:05 pm

I have an extensive collection of vintage Teletype equipment I would like to use my Model 33 (ASCII) as a terminal for the AltairClone. Is this possible and how difficult (or simple) is the interface?

Cheers,
Steve R.
smripper
 
Posts: 1
Joined: July 9th, 2013, 8:57 pm

Re: Teletype Support

Postby AltairClone » July 9th, 2013, 10:01 pm

Steve,

The Clone cannot be wired for 20ma current loop, so you'll have to use an external RS232/current-loop converter in order to use the teletype with the Clone.

I'm jealous! I'm still trying to get an ASR-33 myself.

Mike
AltairClone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 416
Joined: April 5th, 2013, 10:55 am

Re: Teletype Support

Postby AltairClone » August 29th, 2013, 10:45 pm

As an update to this thread, I finally have my own ASR-33 Teletype that I am restoring!

Presently, I have the Teletype working with the Altair Clone using an RS-232 to current loop converter I built. The converter is pretty easy to build out of readily available transistors and resistors. Feel free to contact me for details.

Mike
AltairClone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 416
Joined: April 5th, 2013, 10:55 am

Re: Teletype Support

Postby AltairClone » September 4th, 2013, 5:40 pm

I have added a link on the support page to a new web page about the RS-232 interface for a Teletype ASR-33. Here is a direct link to the new information: http://altairclone.com/teletype.htm.

Mike
AltairClone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 416
Joined: April 5th, 2013, 10:55 am


Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron