Altair Clone Firmware version 1.91

Announcements about the Altair 8800 Clone including software and hardware updates.

Altair Clone Firmware version 1.91

Postby AltairClone » December 8th, 2015, 12:12 pm

Version 1.91 of the Clone firmware is now on the support page. This release augments the serial port flexibility for the Configuration Monitor that was started in 1.9. Features added in 1.9 and 1.91 are summarized below:

  • Upon first entry into the Configuration Monitor from normal (Altair) mode, the run-time (Altair) settings for port 1 are used. Once in the monitor, raising AUX-L again forces the monitor to re-start with port 1 set to 9600 baud, 8N1. This allows, for example, using a Teletype as the Altair console and continuing to use the Teletype as the Configuration Monitor console. However, if a 9600 baud console is then connected for use with the Configuration Monitor, a second AUX-L toggle will properly display on the 9600 baud console.

  • Allow floppy transfer over serial port 1 (console) or serial port 2.

  • Add 230.4K and 460.8K baud options for the floppy transfer rate. (see additional notes below)

  • Move the admin menu floppy options into a separate "Floppy Settings" sub-menu within the admin menu. This new menu includes the addition of the option to specify the serial port used for disk image transfer.

  • Reduce the verbiage of all menus so they display quicker at slower baud rates.

Disk image transfer at 230.4K or 460.8K baud is a bit hit-or-miss depending on the PC used, the OS, the USB-to-serial adapter, the USB-to-serial adapter driver version, and the terminal emulator or XMODEM transfer software used.

Mike
AltairClone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 291
Joined: April 5th, 2013, 10:55 am

Re: Altair Clone Firmware version 1.91

Postby toml_12953 » December 12th, 2015, 1:56 pm

AltairClone wrote:Version 1.91 of the Clone firmware is now on the support page. This release augments the serial port flexibility for the Configuration Monitor that was started in 1.9.
Mike


I'm afraid I already know the answer but here goes:

I need the following to work without having to disconnect and reconnect anything:

    1. Console (TTY or ADM 5)
    2. PC Terminal for disk transfers
    3. Serial printer

Unfortunately, the console can only be on port 1, the serial printer can only be on Port 2 and the PC Terminal can only be on port 1 or 2.
I see no way of putting all three on just the two serial ports. Now if one of them could be used on port 3, then it would work.
Am I missing something? Is there a way to do what I want?

Tom L
toml_12953
 
Posts: 115
Joined: June 7th, 2013, 12:54 pm

Re: Altair Clone Firmware version 1.91

Postby AltairClone » December 12th, 2015, 10:01 pm

Tom,

Unfortunately, your assessment is correct. Conceivably, adding an option to allow the 88-LPC to piggy back on port 2 or port 3 should be possible.

Mike
AltairClone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 291
Joined: April 5th, 2013, 10:55 am

Re: Altair Clone Firmware version 1.91

Postby toml_12953 » December 13th, 2015, 7:03 am

AltairClone wrote:Tom,

Unfortunately, your assessment is correct. Conceivably, adding an option to allow the 88-LPC to piggy back on port 2 or port 3 should be possible.

Mike


If the 88-LPC were to be piggy backed off port 3, would it be limited to 300 baud if I still wanted to use the cassette I/O?
toml_12953
 
Posts: 115
Joined: June 7th, 2013, 12:54 pm

Re: Altair Clone Firmware version 1.91

Postby AltairClone » December 13th, 2015, 10:23 am

toml_12953 wrote:If the 88-LPC were to be piggy backed off port 3, would it be limited to 300 baud if I still wanted to use the cassette I/O?


The port's baud rate remains at the rate you have configured (e.g., 300 baud for cassette I/O) even if the LPC is piggy-backed onto the port.

Mike
AltairClone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 291
Joined: April 5th, 2013, 10:55 am

Re: Altair Clone Firmware version 1.91

Postby toml_12953 » December 13th, 2015, 7:39 pm

AltairClone wrote:The port's baud rate remains at the rate you have configured (e.g., 300 baud for cassette I/O) even if the LPC is piggy-backed onto the port.

Mike

That'd be great if it was possible to piggyback LPC off port 3. Maybe in the next firmware revision?

Tom L
toml_12953
 
Posts: 115
Joined: June 7th, 2013, 12:54 pm


Return to Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron