Altair 8800 connect to the internet ¿?

General discussions related to the Altair 8800 Clone

Altair 8800 connect to the internet ¿?

Postby mpastor » July 6th, 2014, 6:40 am

In this website we can find the altair connected to internet. this is possible?
http://www.micronick.com/altair/

can I transmit a message from one to another altair?

Greetings.
mpastor
 
Posts: 3
Joined: June 17th, 2014, 2:29 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: Altair 8800 connect to the internet ¿?

Postby AltairClone » July 9th, 2014, 6:57 pm

You could transfer files (containing a message!) between two Altairs using XMODEM, KERMIT, etc.

Mike
AltairClone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 303
Joined: April 5th, 2013, 10:55 am

Re: Altair 8800 connect to the internet ¿?

Postby Synoptic » July 15th, 2014, 11:56 am

I'm the owner of that clone on the internet.

I use a small linux computer to do this and a program that listen on a TCP port dans transfer everything back and forth to the serial port of the linux to the Serial port of the altair.

Mike helped me making a boot disk on the altair that presents a menu.
Synoptic
 
Posts: 30
Joined: February 28th, 2014, 2:15 pm

Re: Altair 8800 connect to the internet ¿?

Postby jibanes » July 15th, 2014, 12:59 pm

Nice, can you perform a reset remotely as well?
jibanes
 
Posts: 50
Joined: February 8th, 2014, 1:07 pm

Re: Altair 8800 connect to the internet ¿?

Postby Synoptic » July 15th, 2014, 7:34 pm

jibanes wrote:Nice, can you perform a reset remotely as well?

No!
Synoptic
 
Posts: 30
Joined: February 28th, 2014, 2:15 pm

Re: Altair 8800 connect to the internet ¿?

Postby virtualaltair » December 1st, 2016, 11:23 am

My Altair and Altair Clone are connected to the internet using a GW312 Serial to Ethernet Server. The server can use simple Telnet or Telnet COM Port Control RFC 2217.

https://www.neteon.net/products/serial-ethernet-device-servers/gw312.html

Mike Douglas ported BYE.ASM and XMODEM.ASM to use Altair 2SIO port 2 with CTS enabled. BYE & XMODEM for a simple Remote CP/M (RCP/M) that can be operated remotely using Telnet. The RCP/M can load a program, for example a BBS program.

Tom
virtualaltair
 
Posts: 19
Joined: June 20th, 2013, 11:47 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Re: Altair 8800 connect to the internet ¿?

Postby jibanes » January 27th, 2017, 11:20 am

What would be indeed interesting is to "link" all our altair(clones) together using similar means, some kind of altairnet, with where a common "chatroom" exists and is shared on freenode as well and perhaps a way to share files.

The "gateway" between altair and internet doesn't have to speak tcp/ip to the altair of course, maybe some kermit-like protocol.
jibanes
 
Posts: 50
Joined: February 8th, 2014, 1:07 pm

Re: Altair 8800 connect to the internet ¿?

Postby Synoptic » January 30th, 2017, 1:40 pm

jibanes wrote:What would be indeed interesting is to "link" all our altair(clones) together using similar means, some kind of altairnet, with where a common "chatroom" exists and is shared on freenode as well and perhaps a way to share files.

The "gateway" between altair and internet doesn't have to speak tcp/ip to the altair of course, maybe some kermit-like protocol.


I am all in for an "AltairNet"
Synoptic
 
Posts: 30
Joined: February 28th, 2014, 2:15 pm


Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest