Using the Altair Clone in the classroom

General discussions related to the Altair 8800 Clone

Using the Altair Clone in the classroom

Postby pngwen » July 13th, 2016, 11:25 am

Hi everyone! This is my first post, so I thought I would introduce myself and let you know what I am planning to do with my clone. My name is Bob Lowe, and I'm a professor of computer science at Maryville College. I'm going to be using my clone to teach my students about computer architecture. I chose this because it gives them a very up close view of what's going on inside the machine. Also, as there will likely only be one of these machines on campus, they will have to think more closely about their code as they will have more limited time to try it out.

My architecture course is really geared toward teaching them how computers are designed and organized. As part of the course, they will have to engineer their own instruction set and then implement that design using gate-level logic. In the past, I've always had them play with a couple of different machine languages in simulation, but this year they will have a physical machine to play with. Actually, I'm planning on having them do three physical machines. They will be getting hands on experience with the Intel 8080 on my Altair Clone, Z80 on their TI-83+/84+ calculators, MOS 6502 on an Apple 1 simulator, ARM via qemu, and then a little x86 at the end as a lead-in to my operating systems course.

I'll have them write basically the same suite of programs on all of these machines, though usually with a little bit of modification to pick up the flavor of the hardware they are using. For the 8080, z80, and 6502 they will write out assembly by hand and then work out the machine language. For ARM and x86, they will be using the gnu assembler. I've always done this in the past, but now I have a chance for them to really work with octal and binary via the switches on my clone!