I was wrong!!

General discussions related to the Altair 8800 Clone

I was wrong!!

Postby AltairClone » May 25th, 2015, 7:57 pm

Well guess what? The Altair Clone can play "Daisy" and "Fool on the Hill" through an AM radio after all!

I decided to try once again based on a question someone asked me in an email about the EMI radiated fom the signals which drive the front panel LEDs. Sure enough, the EMI was there after all, albeit weaker than from the real machine, but it sounds the same. This is a good demonstration of the accuracy of the Altair Clone's emulation.

Here's a video of the Clone playing music through the radio: https://youtu.be/wDqArTme4B8

Mike
AltairClone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 379
Joined: April 5th, 2013, 10:55 am

Re: I was wrong!!

Postby Drunkle » May 25th, 2015, 10:28 pm

Well if you have to be wrong, it is nice to be wrong in a way that proves to accuracy of the Altair Clone. ;)
Drunkle
 
Posts: 27
Joined: February 12th, 2015, 12:05 am
Location: Circle Pines, MN

Re: I was wrong!!

Postby gmh » May 25th, 2015, 11:27 pm

That video made my day, that's fantastic!
gmh
 
Posts: 38
Joined: August 12th, 2014, 5:19 am
Location: Melbourne, AU

Re: I was wrong!!

Postby Synoptic » May 26th, 2015, 12:59 pm

What is the tuned frequency on the am radio you used ?
Synoptic
 
Posts: 35
Joined: February 28th, 2014, 2:15 pm

Re: I was wrong!!

Postby Synoptic » May 26th, 2015, 1:13 pm

Oh, could it be possible to have a .COM for it ? Maybe I could add a microphone to my display and have people play the tune...
Synoptic
 
Posts: 35
Joined: February 28th, 2014, 2:15 pm

Re: I was wrong!!

Postby AltairClone » May 26th, 2015, 2:16 pm

Here's a link to an article about playing music with the Altair 8800 and source code for playing "Daisy" and "Fool on the Hill"

http://deramp.com/downloads/altair/software/papertape_cassette/Music/AM%20Radio/

You can use the "Load Hex File" option in the Configuration Manager to load the .hex file. Or, to not "cheat," install a ROM that has an Intel hex loader in it. There are a couple of hex loaders in the "ROMs" directory on the support page. Look at "HEXLOAD" and "TURMONH"

Mike
AltairClone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 379
Joined: April 5th, 2013, 10:55 am

Re: I was wrong!!

Postby AltairClone » May 26th, 2015, 2:32 pm

Synoptic wrote:What is the tuned frequency on the am radio you used ?


In the video, I ended up near the high end of the AM dial. It will probably vary based on how strong existing stations are in you area.

Mike
AltairClone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 379
Joined: April 5th, 2013, 10:55 am

Re: I was wrong!!

Postby gio74 » June 3rd, 2015, 1:01 pm

awesome Mike!!!!

I'll give it a try with my radio scanner, also I want to try to use my Schertler contact mic. such kind of microphones are highly sensitive to radio emissions.

I'm very glad you keep going on posting fantastic stuff about the clone, and it's music :D
gio74
 
Posts: 54
Joined: January 30th, 2015, 2:43 pm


Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron